[jahsonic.com] - [Next >>]

Ivan Smagghe

Related: Radio Nova - DJs

Bugged Out! Presents: Suck My Deck (2004) - Ivan Smagghe [Amazon.com] [FR] [DE] [UK]


France's most wanted radio-host and Selector Ivan Smagghe stands at the crossroad between glamourous Parisian hype and musical integrity. His Test radio show and compilations imposed a new vision of leftfield electronica on Radio Nova and his programming for the two past years has been a faultless example of quality ecclecticness. Though Smagghe hails from the early days of the Parisian underground -both through his connection with the defunct Rough Trade record shop and remixing contributions on various formats- he just recently came back to music production by launching his own Set imprint in early-2001. --via tigersushi.com


    Death Disco (Selected & Mixed By Ivan Smagghe) (2004) - Various Artists [Amazon US] [FR] [DE] [UK]

    1. Way Out 2. This Night (The Gus Gus Remix) 3. Test Four (Blackstrobe Live Edit) 4. Monochromatic (Technoclash Mix) 5. Get Real (Happy House Mix) 6. Tv Night (Elektrodub Version) 7. Stop (Nathan Wilkins & Midnight Mike Edit) 8. Let's Stop Marx 9. Six Million Ways To Live (Paul Daley Six Mil Version) 10. Luv Sikk 11. We Don't Play Guitars (Chicken Lips Dub) 12. I Walk (Superpitcher Schaffel Mix) 13. Breakout (Tiga Edit)

    Hot on the Heels of the Glimmer Twin's "Serie Noire 2" Romp Through the Belgian New Beat Scene Comes France's Most Wanted Radio Hot and Compiler, Ivan Smagghe. Standing at the Crossroads Between Glamourous Parisian Hype and Musical Integrity, Smagghe Has Been on the Verge of Going Super Nova Since his Blackstrobe Recording Project Has Been Gaining Stong Critical and Clubland Acclaim. Now with his Own "Kill the DJ" Club in Paris, Blackstrobe Project and Trans Global Djing Schedule Ivan Smagghe Brings his Own Take for the Dancefloor, "Death Disco".

    Bugged Out! Presents: Suck My Deck (2004) - Ivan Smagghe

    Bugged Out! Presents: Suck My Deck (2004) - Ivan Smagghe [Amazon.com] [FR] [DE] [UK]

    Track Listings 1. Sweet Light – Méchaniques Remontées 2. Chelonis R. Jones – The Rush (Sex with The Machines) 3. Jamie Bissmire – Splitting Atoms 4. Slacker – Looky Thing 5. Panash – Jack 2 Jack (Jesper Dahlback Remix) 6. DK8 – Murder Was the Bass 7. Severed Heads – Dead Eyes Opened (Joakim Edit) 8. Zombie Nation – Souls At Zero 9. The Hacker, Millimetric, David Carretta – Moskow Reise (Black Strobe Remix) 10. Scratch Massive – Make It High (Sex Schön Remix) 11. Random Factor – After The Tone (DJ T’s Tweakin’ Disco Remix) 12. Phonique – The Red Dress (Tiefschwarz Remix) 13. Henry Goes Dirty – Sink 14. Cosmo Vitelli - Icons (Roman Flügel Remix) Editorial Reviews Album Description

    Following the successes of numerous mix CDs last year, React brings you Suck My Deck, a brand new series highlighting some of the more cutting-edge, up and coming artists who play regularly at Bugged Out! events throughout the UK.

    We kick off the series with Parisian DJ extraordinaire Ivan Smagghe. As the resident DJ at Paris’ hippest night Kill the DJ, Ivan has gained respect behind the decks and in the studio as one half of the legendary production duo Black Strobe with Arnaud Rebotini. Over the last few years, Ivan has established himself through his trademark electro/acid/ bleep house sets that are ripping up the dance floors everywhere – so much so that UK’s Jockey Slut Magazine has declared him "The Hottest DJ on the Planet."

    This CD includes highlights such as the Black Strobe remix of "Moskow Reise" by The Hacker, Millimetric, and David Carretta, and the exclusive DJ T remix of "After the Tone" by Random Factor taken from his recently released album Convergence, plus the excellent Joakim edit of "Dead Eyes Opened" by Severed Heads. As the electro-house phenomenon takes hold around the world, Ivan manages to keep one step ahead of the game with his very unique and distinctive sound that’s been encapsulated perfectly on this CD. --editorial at amazon.com

    Nova - Test Four (2001) - Ivan Smagghe

    1. Nova - Test Four (2001) [Amazon FR] | [Amazon US]
      1. You're God(Ana Rago) 2. Fairlight Sunrise(Syclops) [MauriceFulton.html] 3. Granada(Slowsupreme) 4. Tamiami Trail(Mayaku) [Koenie] 5. Dance(Esg) 6. 120 E7(Defacto) 7. Yam(Danmass) 8. Dream 17(Annette) 9. Magenta(Circulation) 10. Lost In The Machine(Doctor L) 11. Stuck(Contriva) 12. Ritual(Brandy) 13. Summer ( The First Time)(Bobby Goldsboro)

      Alors que fleurissent les compilations en tout genre, le nouveau volume de la série Test apporte un peu de fraîcheur au sein d'un marché juteux et saturé. Avec Ivan Smagghe, on sait d'avance que l'on va explorer les recoins les plus excitants de l'actualité musicale, hors des sentiers battus. Ici, pas de place pour le déjà-vu, les morceaux sont soit inédits soit rares et explorent principalement les côtés insolites et sombres de l'electro, du rock, du dub et de la funk. De l'égérie du label Set de Smagghe, Ana Rago, au producteur house déjanté Syclops (alias Maurice Fulton), des ambiances electro hybrides du Scandinave Slowsupreme au mythique groupe funk ESG, du dub conscient de Defacto à la trance progressive de Circulation, la techno rootsy de Brandy (remix par Château Flight), on ne peut dire qu'un grand merci à Ivan. --Pedro Summer for Amazon.fr

      your Amazon recommendations - Jahsonic - early adopter products